Never Say Can’t…

As they used to say; ‘There is no such word as Can’t’  😉

Jen

Jen, 27, was adopted at birth after being born with no legs due to a genetic birth defect.  She was taken in by a family with three sons and they raised her exactly the same… they taught her that there are no limitations.

So, Jen was drawn to sports and despite her disability she excelled in gymnastics.  Jen competed in the Junior Olympics and won a State Championship in tumbling competing against able-bodied people.

At 6 years old Jen idolized American Olympic gymnast Dominique Moceanu, and came to learn later on in life that Dominique was actually her sister.  Whaaa?!?! How about that for a plot twist, haha!

Now Jen works as an acrobat, aerialist and motivational speaker and has toured with Britney Spears, performing acrobat routines.

Jen says: “Although people I’ve just met are always amazed by what I can do, outside of work my friends say they forget that I’m any different.  I use a wheelchair to get around but I feel happiest performing acrobatic feats and hanging from silk threads.  Right now I’m living my dream – traveling the world and connecting with people from all walks of life.  My latest challenge is learning to dance – something I was never sure I’d be able to do.  Working with a professional dancer, I’m choreographing a routine which incorporates my aerialist skills.

We are all born with unique gifts and talents and I want to show people we can use them to change lives.

Finding out my idol was my long lost sister was just the beginning, my life has been about making the impossible, possible.”

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/gymnast-no-legs-tells-joy-4623666

Leave a Reply

